A Very Techie Birthday

Armed with two Starbucks coffees, and a sugar high from cinnamon rolls and cupcakes I was ready for class on my birthday. The all knowing Google also knew it was my birthday, which came as a pleasant surprise this morning.

Screen Shot 2013-09-21 at 3.15.51 PM

I have to admit this was pretty amazing! Thank you Google. Browsing on the internet on your birthday is especially fun because I know that the fictional character Doogie Howser from Doogie Howser, M.D was also born today.

So the learning continued with creating a podcast using GarageBand. Although I have used this program before to combine two audio tracks, I didn’t realize how much you can actually do. We recorded our voices, edited, added an audio introduction and just used the time to learn more about this program and its possibilities in our classrooms. (Podcasts with problems of the week, students creating podcasts to teach others how to solve problems, and even creating their own songs to go with a math lesson or to learn new vocabulary….).

So here is the  podcast:  “Math Talk at ISM”  – A teacher discussion on ways to engage students in a math class!

Happy Listening! (Click on the picture of the “world renowned Math teachers”)

photo

2 thoughts on “A Very Techie Birthday

  1. Pingback: Math talk | naggeas

  2. Hi Karoli! I personally shared with Sandra how I liked your podcast! You guys sound confident, clear and like you enjoyed making it. Love the tech music, Tetris! I kinda wish i had maths class now, or you guys as teachers when i was young… I found math very painful…

Leave a Reply

